HUB FACT SHEETS, INFOGRAPHICS & SUCCESS STORIES Trade & Investment News Read Our Blog Newsletters

East African countries to ratify TFTA agreement before March

Published on December 22, 2016

The East African Community has until March 2017 to ratify the Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) agreement to pave the way for EAC goods to enter larger markets like South Africa, Egypt, Ethiopia and Eritrea.

At the Tripartite Trade Negotiation Forum held in Johannesburg from December 9 to 11, the EAC said it would ratify the agreement by the end of February 2017. The ratification will however will be on a transitional basis, as some annexes are yet to be concluded.

The bloc expressed concern that the delays may make it difficult to meet the June 2017 deadline set by the Tripartite Council of Ministers. Read more. Source | East African