HUB FACT SHEETS, INFOGRAPHICS & SUCCESS STORIES Trade & Investment News Read Our Blog Newsletters

East African Community: The unfinished agenda

Published on May 05, 2015

The East African Community (EAC)—comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda—has the ambitious goal of introducing a single currency by 2024. This journey towards integration commenced in 2000 and is underpinned by three main protocols: the customs union (2005), the common market (2010), and, more recently, the monetary union (2013). This increasing integration, which the East African heads of state see as steps towards their ultimate goal of a political federation, facilitates the free movement of goods, services, and capital around the region, which in turn improves the welfare of the general population through sustained, durable, and inclusive growth. Read more. Source | Brookings