HUB FACT SHEETS, INFOGRAPHICS & SUCCESS STORIES Trade & Investment News Read Our Blog Newsletters

EAC Act on non-tariff barriers a boon to regional trade

Published on May 20, 2015

The East African Community Legislative Assembly recently passed a binding legislation to eliminate non-tariff barriers to trade among East African Community partner states.

Known as the East African Community Elimination of Non-Tariff Barriers Act, 2015, the law is likely to contribute to increased intra-EAC trade once ratified nationally by each of the five states — Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. NTBs are partly to blame for the still limited intra-EAC trade, estimated at 13 per cent in 2013.

NTBs often limit market access, changing the quantities of goods traded, or increasing the prices of goods. They come in various forms such as restrictive sanitary and environmental protection measures, import or export restrictions, price controls, arbitrary application of rules of origin and other trade-restrictive measures. Read more. Source | The East African